About Yoga

Originated in ancient India Yoga is a combination of physical, mental and spiritual practices. Hatha yoga and Raja yoga are considered to be the most popular yoga amongst communities. Although yoga was born and accepted in India dominantly but later on people like Vivekananda and Baba Ramdev introduced yoga to western countries. Now yoga is performed for physical and mental wellbeing all across the world. June 21st is celebrated as international yoga day. Mr. Narender Modi, honourable prime minister of India is credited to bring the world close to yoga by agreeing to celebrate yoga as international festival.

Yoga is derived basically from Sanskrit root YUJ that refers to YOKE or union. Yoga is said to be spiritual discipline that helps it practitioner to unite with god. Yoga means union of physical body with spirit. Yoga is a deep emotional connection between self and sprit to experience something beyond imagination.

Yoga benefits

Yoga is a boon for the society and human being. It gives countless benefits to its practitioner if done continuously. Here I am listing few of them for better clarity.

  • Yoga helps overall physical health.
  • Yoga helps overall mental health.
  • Yoga improves immunity to fight disease better.
  • Yoga strengthens our bones.
  • Yoga gives us stamina for day to day life.
  • Yoga helps in concentration and we are more focussed towards our goal.
  • Yoga lowers your sugar level.
  • Yoga maintains your blood pressure level.
  • Helps you sleep deeper.
  • Yoga makes you happy.
  • Yoga gives inner strength.
  • Yoga boosts your sex performance and helps in relationships.

Goal of Yoga

People from western countries and modern India get confused with yoga. People think yoga as a physical exercise that is used for physical health and body toning. Though these are true and yoga definitely helps in maintaining physical health but other than these health benefits yoga is a spiritual discipline to get MOKSHA, the ultimate goal of living being.

Yoga is the disciplined technique of attaining goal. Yoga practitioner gets ability of controlling their body and mind efficiently.

Eight limbs of yoga

Patanjali has defined 8 limbs of yoga for spiritual developments. These include ethical discipline, physical postures, breathing, meditation and enlightenment.

  • YAMA

Types of Yoga

There are several types of yoga being performed throughout the world. People are choosing yoga as per their need and convenience. Americans are more comfortable with HATHA YOGA, concentrating on physical postures.

  • Hatha yoga
  • Raja yoga
  • Vinyasa yoga
  • Prenatal yoga
  • Yin yoga
  • Restorative yoga
  • Ashtanga yoga
  • Jivamukti yoga
  • Iyengar yoga
  • Kundalini yoga
  • Anusara yoga
  • Bikram yoga